Table of Contents

The issue with upgrading

Migrating from a pre-v4.4 version to v4.4 and later

Migrating from v4.4 or later to the same or a later version

Automatic upgrade of databases

Upgrading from AllegroGraph v4.x (where x < 4) to AllegroGraph v4.4 and later

Warning: these instructions only work for AllegroGraph v4.0.4 and later. If you need to upgrade from a version earlier than v4.0.4, please contact Franz Inc. Customer Support (support@franz.com).

The agraph-backup utility has been enhanced, as we describe below, to make upgrading from one AllegroGraph version to a later version very simple. Unfortunately, you cannot use the new features in order to upgrade to AllegroGraph v4.4 or later from a version earlier than v4.4. So this section expalins how to upgrade in that case. (To upgrade from version v3.x, see Convert from v3 to v4.)

The issue with upgrading

You want two things to be moved from the earlier version to the later: the data and the server settings. The data is the set of triples. The server settings are (more or less) everything else: user information, security settings, etc.

Migrating from a pre-v4.4 version to v4.4 and later

The steps are as follows:

  1. Using agraph-backup of version X (X < v4.4), backup each repository separately (see Backup and Restore for agraph-backup usage). This step ensures you can still use the database in version X even if the upgrade to version Y fails.

  2. Stop the server of version X.

  3. Using agraph-backup of version v4.4 or later, backup the settings by backup-settings option. This option requires a desination directory and the path of the config file of the original installation.

  4. agraph-backup backup-settings

  5. Using agraph-backup of version Y (version 4.4 or later), restore settings.
  6. agraph-backup --port Y-port restore-all

After restoring the settings, the user needs to restart the new AG server to reflect the changes.

  1. Using agraph-backup of version Y, restore each archived repository.

Migrating from v4.4 or later to the same or a later version

We have version X and a new version Y, with version X <= version Y. The steps are these:

  1. Using agraph-backup of version X, the user archives all the repositories and settings under (see Backup and Restore for agraph-backup usage)..
  2. agraph-backup --port X-port backup-all

  3. Using agraph-backup of version Y, the user restores all the repositories and settings.
  4. agraph-backup --port Y-port restore-all

After restoring the settings, the user needs to restart the new AG server to reflect the changes.

If the original installation uses catalogs other than root, the same catalogs needs to exist in the destination configuration.

Automatic upgrade of databases

When an archive created by older version of agraph-backup is restored, either by restore or restore-all, the database is converted to the current version by default.

To suppress this operation, give --noconvert option to agraph-backup.