This document describes how to upgrade database from one version of AllegrGraph to a later version of AllegroGraph. Using the same technique, you can also make a copy of a database.
If you have AllegroGraph version 3.x and want to upgrade to version 4.x see Convert from v3 to v4.
If you want to upgrade from a version v4.x where x < 4 (e.g., from 4.3 to 4.14.1), see pre-v4.4 Upgrade Guide.
The issue with upgrading
You want two things to be moved from the earlier version to the later: the data and the server settings. The data is the set of triples. The server settings are (more or less) everything else: user information, security settings, etc.
Migrating from v4.4 or later to the same or a later version
We have version X and a new version Y, with version X <= version Y. The steps are these:
- Using agraph-backup of version X, archive all the repositories and settings into the directory specified as an argument (see Backup and Restore for agraph-backup usage).
- Using agraph-backup of version Y, restore all the repositories and settings.
agraph-backup --port X-port backup-all <directory>
agraph-backup --port Y-port restore-all <directory>
After restoring the settings, you must restart the new (version Y) AG server to reflect the changes.
If the original installation uses catalogs other than root, the same catalogs need to exist in the destination configuration.
Automatic upgrade of databases
When an archive created by older version of agraph-backup is restored, either by
restore-all, the database is converted to the current version by default.
To suppress this operation, give
--noconvert option to agraph-backup.